BBA 2010 NL Awards for Best Pitcher and Most Valuable Position Player

The Walter Johnson Award

Photo of Phillies Ace Roy Halladay by Icon SMI

Going by the numbers for this award, I analyzed the following metrics: wins minus losses plus strikeouts, walks minus intentional walks (because that’s usually situational), WHIP (walks and hits per innings pitched), ERA minus SIERA (a new Baseball Prospectus stat that reflects a pitcher’s true ERA). Points were also deducted for wild pitches, balks, hit batters and home runs allowed.

Additional stats not taken into this analysis were the winner’s complete games (9) and shutouts (4 of those 9 games). One of these games being a Perfect game (no hits or walks allowed).

The winner is Phillies Ace Roy “Doc” Halladay

Roy Halladay PHI 7
Adam Wainwright SLN 4
Tim Lincecum SFN 3
Josh Johnson FLO 2
Mat Latos SDN 1
Cole Hamels PHI HM*
Clayton Kershaw LAN HM*
Yovani Gallardo MIL HM*
Ubaldo Jimenez COL HM*

The Stan Musial Award

Albert Pujols Photo by Icon SMI

Going by the numbers for this award, I analyzed the following metrics: runs scored, RBIs, total bases, added the number of intentional walks to add weight to that stat (it usually shows the reluctance to face a certain batter), stolen bases minus times caught stealing, batting average, OBP and then I subtracted strikeouts.

I would have persoanally preferred to see new blood win this award, but Pujols is well deserving of it this year! He beat Reds 1B Joey Votto in runs, RBI, total bases, walks (with 30 more intentional walks than Votto), less K’s with more hits, doubles and home runs. How could Pujols not win it when you look at it that way?

Albert Pujols SLN 13
Joey Votto CIN 9
Carlos Gonzalez COL 8
Matt Holliday SLN 7
Adrian Gonzalez SDN 6
Aubrey Huff SFN 5
Ryan Braun MIL 4
Troy Tulowitzki COL 3
Jayson Werth PHI 2
Ryan Zimmerman WAS 1
Hanley Ramirez FLO HM*
Prince Fielder MIL HM*

*denotes Honorable Mentions

Enhanced by Zemanta

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply